Understandings of Emotions

May 3, 2010 at 1:31 am Leave a comment

Early today, I was going through a period of self-doubt.  The self-doubt was due to my inability to form a true partnership with another person.    I have had a lot of shortcomings in this area, but it is  difficulty in prespective-taking.     Prespective-taking is something is literally taught from a textbook or book on social skills.  In normal people, it is skill that is learned thought insticts and observation of how people do it.

It hurts my ability to create close friendships because I have a distortion of understanding and responding to emotions.  My normal coping mechanism is to try to treat all people with kindness and love.  This goes a long way but there is still lots and lots of work to do in this area.  I do not fully understand how this works in relationships and especially in complex relationships. 

I believe that the inability to understand and respond to emotions creates emotional insecurity.  It creates waves of depression and makes dwell on my shortcomings too much.   

How to solve this problem? I think observation, reading books especially the book “Social Thinking” by Michelle Garcia-Wynn (which I discuss in a future posts), and just being around people.

I am going into a period where I have long, extended time around people.   It is time of year when there will be major Burning Man camping events and I need to take advantage of this period to increase my emotional intelligence.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Social Cues and Shyness Expect More Interviews But Expect Lots Of Rejection Letters

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


